Bothasig Baseball Club has a fantastic Clubhouse, Canteen and a Licenced Bar Area.

Junior and Senior Committees are selected annually at our official AGM, where audited financial reports of the past season are tabled and approved. Both Junior and Senior Committees jointly manage the clubs coaching, social and fundraising commitments.

The clubs successes over the years can truly be attributed to our parent’s involvement as committee members, coaches, managers, scorers. Further to this, our fundraising events are well supported annually.

Our club has a very proud history of baseball in South Africa, with many of our players representing the Western Province and South Africa at International level.

We are an affiliate to our National Body, being the South African Baseball Union (SABU), who governs and administers Baseball in South Africa.

SABU is responsible for the development and advancement of baseball, furthermore co-ordinating National and International Tournaments.

The Bothasig Baseball Club holds membership to our Provincial Body, the Baseball Association of Western Province (BAWP) established in April 1992.

BAWP took the first step in addressing the imbalances of the past and creating one Association to administer baseball in the Western Cape.

Western Province has proved to be a major force to be reckoned with in South African Baseball and can proudly claim to be the stronghold of Baseball, winning most of the titles in the South African National Championships in both Junior and Senior Divisions.


The dedication, effort and Commitment of all club members, have resulted in the success of our clubs representation in various International Tournaments, the names of such players and coaches are as follows:-


July 2000 – 1st Under 12 World Championship, Sao Paulo, Brazil.

Players: Kyle Botha; Justin Lazarus; Jared Elario and Ryan Groves.

The coach was Mr Tommie Norman, our present Chairman of the Bothasig Baseball Club


July 2002 – Under 16 European Senior League Tournament, Frankfurt,Germany.

Players: Duane Feldtmann; Denato Riglioni; Brandon Berghoff; Keegan Swanepoel; Andrew Norman (Junior) and Warrick Cheetham.

Team Manager was Andrew Norman.


August 2003 – Under 16 IBAF World Youth Baseball Championship, Kaohsiung, Taiwan.

Players: Justin Lazarus; Duane Feldtmann and Warrick Cheetham.


September 2004 – Under 18 IBAF World Youth Baeball Championship, Taipei, Taiwan.

Players: Brandon Berghoff; Denato Berghoff; Keegan Swanepoel.


July 2005 – Under 18 European Baseball Championship , Trieste, Italy.

Players: Birtus Mostert, Jamie Rossouw; Jared Elario; Jean Sawyer; Justin Lazarus; Keegan Swanepoel; Kyle Botha.

Coach was Neil Adonis.


August 2013 – SA U18 Team vs Great Britain (5 Match Test) – Johannesburg.

South Africa won

Players: Dylan Stark; Tyronne Milne; Keenan Clarke; Darren Boltman; Jordan King


July 2014 – Under 15 IBAF World Cup (Mexico)

Players: Alexander Fortune; Keegan Lazarus; Brando Gehlig

South Africa U15 Head Coach – “Honey” Moses



Bothasig is well presented in the South African Baseball Team who went on to dominate the French in the clash in November in South Africa.


In addition to the above achievements, many of our junior players were invited and participated in the Little League World Baseball Qualifiers in Europe over the years, the latest being our Under 16 and Under 18 Teams participating in the 2012 Qualifiers, in Novara Italy, with both Teams finishing in second place with Silver Medals.